17 Comments
author

We've heard there are two types of menstrual cramps: primary and secondary. Would love if one of our experts could explain a little more about the differences between both.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by Body of Knowledge

I always felt lucky that I didn't seem to suffer debilitating period pain and heavy flow compared to some of my friends growing up, but I also wouldn't say it was much of a topic of conversation. Still to this day, I attempt to hide a tampon or pad in my pocket or shirt sleeve when on the walk to the restroom to change it.

However, since having children the reintroduction to my period has felt more painful. Unsure if it's just a case of, "absence makes the cramps grow stronger", backlog of shedding that needs to occur, or actual changes to the body and/or cycle. My cycle also seems to lack any pattern, the length and sporadic timing of bleeding and cramping does not jive with my plan-oriented/need for control personality.

I wouldn't say I have many tips, but I do enjoy heat therapy and a nice Epsom salt bath for any ache and pain!

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by Body of Knowledge

I feel my cramps more in my back then my uterus. It hits hard the very first day of my period and then diminishes quite a bit the following days. It's typically a grit my teeth and bear it type situation. If I don't have to be anywhere, I do sometimes curl up in bed for a bit. I'll sometimes take an Aleve--that's the only medication that works, Aspirin and Advil do nothing--but most of the time I just grit my way through.

Expand full comment
Apr 12, 2022Liked by Body of Knowledge

Hi, well I have a strange one. Often on the first day of my period (and even the day before it starts), I'll feel pain in my vaginal wall. It's very different than cramps and only comes in short bursts. It's definitely something I've started to experience as I've gotten older / after having my kids. Chloe, reading your message and maybe you can relate? As I read through all of these messages I'm struck by how much we experience pain outside the "normal" areas of the lower abdomen and pelvis. Our periods can really be an all-consuming thing.

Expand full comment